Agenda and minutes

Venue: Virtual Meeting

Contact: Ian Cockill  Governance Officer

Note: To access the live stream of the meeting, please paste the following into your browser's address bar: 

No. Item


Conferment of the Title of Honorary Alderman pdf icon PDF 133 KB

To consider a report of the Corporate Director of Governance and Community Strategy recommending that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred posthumously on former Councillors Jane Baugh and Raymond Bowker MBE.




The Corporate Director of Governance and Community Strategy submitted a report proposing that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred posthumously on former Councillors Jane Baugh and Raymond Bowker MBE.


The report advised that Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 provided for the Council to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who have, in its opinion, rendered eminent service to the Council as past Members.


The Leaders of the Political groups on the Council were especially honoured to support a Motion to confer the honour of Honorary Alderman upon former Councillors Baugh and Bowker and paid tribute to their efforts and outstanding contributions on behalf of Trafford and the communities they had served. Members of the Council were privileged to speak in support of the Motion and expressed fond memories of the former Councillors.


The late Jane Baugh represented Broadheath ward from 1990-2004 and Priory ward from 2004 onwards until her death as a serving Councillor in January 2020. She served as the Borough’s Mayor in 2011/12 and raised more than £26,000 for a number of charities including The Stroke Association, Parkinson’s UK, Altrincham General Hospital’s League of Friends, Trafford Stroke Support Group, the Alex Hulme Foundation and Trafford Carers’ Centre. During her time as a Councillor she served several terms as an Executive Member for Children’s Services and Culture and Leisure portfolios and also served as a Shadow Executive Member. Her particular passion was for Arts and Culture, the Waterside Arts Centre, Music and Children’s Services. In addition to her Councillor role, she was appointed to Council outside bodies including meetings of AGMA. Jane served as vice chair of Sale Festival, and was a member of the Friends of Worthington Park and the Friends of Walkden Gardens. She stood twice as an MP in Altrincham and Sale West. Given Jane’s many years of service and significant contribution to the borough of Trafford, she was exceptionally worthy of the honour.


The late Ray Bowker MBE served on the Council for over 42 years since Trafford’s inception in 1973 to 1976 and then uninterrupted from 1980 until his death as a serving Councillor in January 2020. He was the Borough’s Mayor during the millennium year and raised more than £71,000 for two local charities, Trafford Young Carers Project and Trafford Crossroads, during this time. Ray represented Village ward in Timperley and was the Liberal Democrat Group Leader for many years. In 2002 Ray was awarded an MBE for a lifetime of service to the community. He had a long and distinguished local government career, serving on a whole host of Council Committees and was known for his great passions, Timperley, Trafford and the welfare of young people. He was a lifelong Timperley resident, and served on many school governing bodies including his former school Wellington and was Chair of Governors at Broomwood Primary School in Timperley. He also served for more than 40 years in the Boys Brigade, 7th Altrincham Company at Timperley Methodist Church. Ray  ...  view the full minutes text for item 40.