TRAFFORD COUNCIL

MEMBERSHIP OF SUB-COMMITTEES 2016/17

SUB-COMMITTEE

NO. OF MEMBERS

PUBLIC PROTECTION

9

COUNCILLORS

Stephen Anstee Alan Mitchell V-CH Matthew Sephton John Smith Mike Whetton CH Anne Duffield Mike Freeman OS David Jarman Whit Stennett

TOTAL	5	4	

[5 Substitutes: Dan Bunting, Mrs, Denise Haddad, Mrs. June Reilly, Barry Brotherton, Philip Gratrix]

PUBLIC PROTECTION SUB-COMMITTEE

Terms of Reference

- 1. To exercise powers in relation to the following functions as specified in Schedule 1 to the Local Authorities (Functions and Responsibilities) (England) Regulations 2000:
 - (i) all licensing and registration functions except those relating to town and country planning, the regulation of the use of the highway and Safety at Sports Grounds.
 - (ii) functions under any 'relevant statutory provision' within the meaning of Part I of the Health and Safety at Work Act 1974, to the extent that those functions are discharged otherwise than in the Council's capacity as employer; and
 - (iii) associated functions under any local Act.
- Membership of the Public Protection Sub-Committee shall comprise 9 Members (5:4:0) with up to 5 substitute Members being allowed (3:2:0). The substitute Members for the Public Protection Sub-Committee can only be nominated from the membership of the Licensing Committee.

Delegation

In exercising the power and duties assigned to them in their terms of reference, the Public Protection Sub-Committee shall have delegated power to resolve and to act on behalf of and in the name of the Council.